You are here: Home ->About the Ministry

About the Ministry


Ministry of Rural Development has two departments namely
Department of Rural Development and Department of Land Resource.

Being the nodal Ministry for most of the development and welfare activities in the rural areas, the Ministry of Rural Development plays a pivotal role in the overall development strategy of the country. The vision and mission of the Ministry is sustainable and inclusive growth of rural India through a multipronged strategy for eradication of poverty by increasing livelihoods opportunities, providing social safety net and developing infrastructure for growth. This is expected to improve quality of life in rural India and to correct the developmental imbalances, aiming in the process, to reach out to most disadvantaged sections of the society.

The Ministry of Rural Development consists of two Departments, viz.,

(i) Department of Rural Development,

(ii) Department of Land Resources.

Ministers and Secretaries

Shri Narendra Singh Tomar

Minister of Rural Development
Minister of Panchayati Raj
Minister of Drinking Water and Sanitation.

Shri Ram Kripal Yadav

Minister of State for Rural Development

Shri Amarjeet Sinha

Secretary of Department of Rural Development.

Shri Dinesh Singh

Secretary of Department of Land Resources.

The Ministry now consist of two Departments Department of Rural Development and Department of Land Resources.


Path Behind

Rural development implies both the economic betterment of people as well as greater social transformation. Increased participation of people in the rural development programmes, decentralization of planning, better enforcement of land reforms and greater access to credit are envisaged for providing the rural people with better prospects.

Initially, main thrust for development was laid on agriculture, industry, communication, education, health and allied sectors. Later on, realizing that accelerated development can be provided only if governmental efforts are adequately supplemented by direct and indirect involvement of people at the grass root level, the thrust shifted.



The following major programmes are being operated by the Ministry of Rural Development in rural areas,



Budget outlay of Rs. 86000 crore has been provided under the Plan head to the Department of Rural Development for the financial year 2016-17.